Waterford Police Leadership
Board of Police Commissioners:
William M. Auwood, Margaret Poulios, 
Mark R. Gelinas, Thomas A. Sheridan, 
Daniel M. Steward (First Selectman)

Chief of Police: 
Brett Mahoney
About Us

The Waterford Police Department covers approximately 33 square miles in southeastern Connecticut including the village of Quaker Hill.  The Town of Waterford Police Department also covers several bodies of water, including the Thames River, Niantic River and Long Island Sound.  The Town of Waterford, with a population of approximately 20,000 residents, features numerous commercial developments, beautiful beaches, hosts the Eugene O’Neill Theater, Harkness State Park, Millstone Nuclear Power Station and the Waterford-New London Speedbowl racetrack. 


The Waterford Police Department, commanded by Chief Brett Mahoney, also has a civilian Board of Police Commissioners.  The agency is comprised of Lieutenants, Sergeants, Patrol Officers, K-9 Officers, Detectives, Traffic Officer, Evidence/Court Officer, School Resource Officers and civilian Community Service Officers. 


Waterford Police Officers use marked cruisers, unmarked vehicles, a patrol boat, jet-skis, ATV’s, bicycles and other methods to protect and serve the Town of Waterford.  The department is proud to have officers who have acquired additional training and qualifications in specific areas which benefit our and the surrounding communities. These specialized areas include an Accident Investigation Team, K-9 Units, Youth Education Instructors, Drug Recognition Experts and Police Instructors in numerous law enforcement subjects.  The department also has officers who participate in and are assigned to task forces, cold case units and other regional and state efforts periodically.